Pretend

When you leave

I pretend

You still believe

And maybe this sore shall relieve

And again your heart I’ll receive

  • So I wait

    And pretend

    That you’re just late

    And maybe you’re running to me straight

    But again, with myself I debate

  • When you kneel

    I pretend

    My heart has healed

    And maybe this love shall reveal

    How we’ll bloom to feel the unreal

  • So I agreed

    And pretend

    It never bleeds

    And maybe this time you’ll stay indeed

    Our whole world I’ll let you lead

  • When you lie

    I pretend

    To ask you why

    Hoping there’ll be guilt in your reply

    But you walk away with your eyes dry

  • When you leave

    I pretend

    You still believe

    And maybe this sore shall relieve

    And your heart again I’ll receive

    Leave a comment